Behind the Research: Jessica Ruth Baker on Designing and Performing a Solo Theatrical Show

25 Apr

Jessica Ruth Baker performs "I Was Bigfoot's Love Slave: A Christian Multi-media Experience" by Barbara Ulrich

A large theatre production requires a team effort with contributions not only from the actors on stage, but also from many others, usually including a director, set designer, lighting designer, sound designer, technical director, props manager, house manager and many others. But what about a one-person show, with only a solo actor on stage using a minimal set, costume, lighting and props? UMBC senior Theatre major Jessica Ruth Baker chose to explore this question for her 2011-2012 undergraduate research project, wanting “to explore the challenge of performing a solo show and to understand the difference between that and working with a group.”

Her project culminated in performances of I Was Bigfoot’s Love Slave: A Christian Multi-media Experience by Barbara Ulrich.

What insights have you gained from your research?
When I first decided that I would create a research project about designing and performing in a solo show, I had no idea where to begin, and was relying only on myself. However, as I worked closely with my mentor [Professor Lynn Watson] and with other faculty, including my director, I learned that this was in fact a collaborative effort no matter what. I also learned from audiences after the performance that everyone experiences a play differently, and the lessons an audience member learned from Bigfoot are far different—but no less valuable—than what I perceived to be the message of the show. These are the best things about theatre: collaboration and individual experience. That’s what makes it unique.

What are your plans for after UMBC?
After UMBC, I will continue pursuing work as a professional actor, as well as break into the costume and scenic design field of professional theatre. One day, I hope to go to graduate school and achieve my doctorate, but for now, I just want to do what I’m good at, and what I love, as much as I can.

Jessica will present excerpts from Bigfoot at 1:30 p.m. in Fine Arts Building Studio A.

One Response to “Behind the Research: Jessica Ruth Baker on Designing and Performing a Solo Theatrical Show”

  1. Robbi May 11, 2012 at 8:05 am #

    I wish I could have seen this

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

